Links/Link Up / Style

THE STYLE MIND: SYDNEY

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 11.15.01 AM
Here’s a secret (ok, maybe not) : I am a HUGE Pittsburgh fan. I love everything about the city: sports, food, people, culture – everything. If it was a prominent fashion city or I didn’t want a career in fashion, I would move there in a heartbeat. No, it’s no New York, but it’s absolutely my second favorite city.But anyway, I have no idea how or when I found Sydney’s blog – but we’ll say I’ve been a reader since day one. She’s so genuine,  extremely stylish, very beautiful, oh and she’s from Pittsburgh…so obviously I love her. Want to get to know more about the girl behind Summer Wind? Well, here ya go.
DSC_2654How would you describe your style?
Classic and ladylike but with a fun, girly twist and a dash of preppy.

Describe the style of people from the Steel City.
There’s not much style here, which is unfortunate!!! Pittsburgh has been voted one of the worst dressed cities by GQ in the past and I wish I could argue for a better title, but there’s not much going on in terms of style. A steelers or pens jersey is common for everyday here in the steel city. But part of me loves that!!!

DSC_1956Who are your ultimate style icons?
I really love Samantha, from Bewitched. Her character’s style is still relevant today. Plus, I love the classic look but with a mod twist that she does often on the show. I have all of the seasons on DVD and rewatch for style inspiration. I also really love Jackie O, Grace Kelly amd Audrey Hepburn. Their styles are all slightly different but I love that they are all still very relevant today. In pop culture, I love Olivia Palermo’s style. She makes everything look effortless and chic.

Where do you shop for your must-have pieces?
I love ASOS and Zara for some trendier/edgier pieces but my go-to’s are Brooks Brothers, Ralph Lauren, Lilly Pulitzer and J. Crew.

Who are some of your lust-worthy designers? Why do you love them?
Carolina Herrera is my absolute favorite. Her pieces are perfect– I don’t think she’s made anything I dislike!!!

What’s more important: Utilizing what’s in your closet or frequently shopping?
This is a tough one– I love shopping as much as the next person, but I think utilizing what is already in my closet is more fun. I often have those moments when I feel like I have nothing to wear, but the best is when I can find something in the depths of my closet and give it life once again!

What’s one trend you love, but don’t think you could pull off?
I think there are so many chic celebs  and other fashion bloggers and style icons that can pull off the crop top.. but not me. It is so out of my comfort zone, but looks great on so many!

Three favorite trends – go:
Midi skirts, monochromatic outfits and I totally fell for the leather pants this past fall/winter.

You work in event planning and PR, so what’s your typical g0-to-work outfit?
I wear a lot of black for work–  it’s the nature of working in a city and working in my field… think LBD’s or black skinnies, heels and a crisp white shirt. But I am lucky enough that when we don’t have meetings or events, I can pretty much wear what I want to the office. Lately I’ve been wearing white denim and cashmere sweaters with Jack’s.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetSince you’re from Pittsburgh, do you think the city has any impact on your style?
Yes, incredibly! I think working in a city has toned down my use of color. It’s a little bit unfortunate, but it has help me dress more sophisticated which I like.

Finally, what’s your biggest piece of advice you could give to my stylish readers?
Go with your gut! I know when I am getting dressed, I sometimes second guess what I’m wearing, but if it feels right, then it probably is!

Be sure to follow Sydney’s blog, Summer Wind, as well as Sydney on social media: Twitter, Instagram, Facebook.

3 thoughts on “THE STYLE MIND: SYDNEY

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO