Uncategorized

THE STYLE MIND: KATE

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 11.15.01 AMEver just “meet” someone and instantly connect? That’s exactly how I felt when I “met” Kate. She may be a Texas gal, but I truly believe that we are soul sisters — we are alike in more ways than normal and she is an absolute sweetheart. I mean, come on, we first bonded over Drybar Dry Shampoo;) When she started her blog, For The Love of Fancy, I couldn’t help but ask her to be part of The Style Mind. I know you’ll love her as much as I do — be sure to stop by and say hello!

DSC_1342

How would you describe your style?
Feminine, preppy, and colorful.

Do you think living in Texas affects your style?
Absolutely! Texas fashion embodies southern charm and all that it stands for. You see lots of colors, seersucker, lace, big hats, even bigger hair, and cowboy boots. Sounds like a pretty wide range of outfit components, but it all just works. Also, trying to find a way to look cute, while dying in the 110 degree heat with humidity…always a challenge.

Aside from blogging, you work in a non-fashion related field. How does that play a role in how you find style inspiration?
I find inspiration through my stacks on stacks of fashion magazines, my go-to everyday fashion blogs, and even through celebrities. I love pulling bits and pieces from each look I see, whether it be on a fashion blog or in a magazine. Inspiration is what fashion is all about.

Let’s be real: We’re girls. We’re bloggers — We love to shop. Where are your favorite stores?
It would probably be easier to answer the question: Where DON’T I love to shop……My absolute favorites are J.Crew, Ralph Lauren, Lilly Pulitzer. Those can be pricey, so I also love ASOS, Nordstrom, Forever21, and H&M.

Who are the three biggest designers you love to splurge on?
Tory Burch, Kate Spade, and Lilly Pulitzer.

Putting money and budgets aside – what’s more important to you: Frequently shopping or utilizing what you already have?
Ahh, tough. I honestly wish I was better at utilizing items I already have. Don’t get me wrong, I am an outfit-repeater…big time. But I also can’t pass up shopping for new pieces. And I must say, finding something in the deep, dark depths of your closet that you tossed aside a few months ago thinking you’d never wear again…pulling that out and re-purposing it is such a victory!

What are your favorite things to do in Houston and what do you wear when doing them?
For about 9 out of the 12 months in the year, it is hotter than ever in Houston. And don’t even get me started on the humidity! (Frizzy hair is cute though, right?) Houston is such a neat city with so much to offer. Despite the heat, one of my favorite things to do is frequent outdoor brunch spots/patio bars with my husband and friends! For these occasions, I usually gravitate to a flowy maxi dress, a cute short/top set, or a fun romper. All 3 of these are easy pieces that can be jazzed up in seconds with some fabulous accessories. I can honestly say I don’t want to be in skinny jeans and a tight leather peplum in the middle of July in Houston…no thanks. So I gravitate to the pieces I mentioned above to look fashionable and put together, while avoiding death by heat stroke.

What’s the most exciting thing that’s happened to you since starting your blog?
First off, I’ve met the most incredible group of stylish and supportive women who share the same passion I do. And for me, that’s pretty exciting. I’ve also been given the opportunity to team up with some pretty awesome companies such as Zappos, BareMinerals, Dittos, and Sole Society! When I started my blog, I had no idea it would blossom into what it is today, and I’m so thankful.

Here’s a fun one – three favorite trends, go:
Midi skirts, rompers, and matching 2-piece sets.

And finally, what’s your biggest piece of advice for my stylish readers who may not be looking for a career in fashion?
Wear what you love! Style is personal to YOU, so just go for it. Don’t be afraid to try a new trend. Just be you. Find what you love and embrace it.

What did you think?! I know, you love her already — now go say hi!

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 7.37.08 PM

4 thoughts on “THE STYLE MIND: KATE

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

