Uncategorized

THE STYLE MIND: GRACEY

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 11.15.01 AM

Ever find a blogger who you automatically love (cough, cough me, jk)? Well that definitely happened when I stumbled upon Stripes and Peonies. The blogger is Gracey Wallace, and she is absolutely adorable! She is in high school, yes high school, and dresses with the utmost class, style, and personality. She is the epitome of the phrase, “age ain’t nothin’ but a number” when it comes to style! I hope you all enjoy getting to know a little more about her!

vineyardvines_stripes1-1

How would you describe your style?
I call it “prep with an edge”. I’ve gone through many style phases. The “Lilly Pulitzer all the time phase”, the very colorful phase, and at one point my closet consisted solely of halter tops and denim shorts (all thanks to Gap kids). I’ve finally settled on something that really defines me. A little bit of prep, but a little bit of edginess too. Hence, “prep with an edge”.

You live in Texas…which is awesome. How has living there affected your style?
Oh the Lone Star State… Texas is huge, like really big. It’s also great living here because it’s also a mesh of so many different people and cultures. Houston is an incredibly diverse city, so I get a lot of style inspiration from people on the streets. I will admit, my cowboy boots sit in the back in my closet until it’s rodeo time, but I do love wearing them. Also, you learn to dress for the weather. Texas is hot. Long-sleeves are a no-go after January and from then on it’s pretty much summer.

I’m pretty sure everyone loves your style – where in the world do you find outfit inspiration?
Aww why thank you;) This may be the most general and overused answer ever, but pretty much my surroundings. I get inspiration from random people, the weather, magazines, blogs, while shopping, so pretty much everywhere.

Let’s be real: We’re girls. We’re bloggers. We love to shop. Where are your favorite stores?
I love Zara. I get most of my basics at Gap or Club Monaco and I’ll always find something in J.Crew. Lately, I’ve been going through the online catalogs at Mango and finding a lot of things to my liking.

Who are the three biggest designers you love to splurge on?
Alice and Olivia — It was about 10pm in the Meatpacking district in NYC and I wandered into the Alice and Olivia showroom just as they were about to close. I bought a pair of pink pointy toed shoes (may I add that they were the only left in their inventory) and was my biggest shopping splurge. My other two are Tory Burch and Joie.

As a high school student, what’s more important to you: frequently shopping or utilizing what’s in your closet?
I would have to say utilizing what’s in my closet. When I get dressed in the morning, I’m forced to pick from what I have and I try to come up with new combinations. As much as I love shopping, I simply don’t always have the time.

Your Instagram is definitely worth noting…how do you make sure you get the perfect shot?
Thank you;). I actually did a post on my Instagram on my blog. I am always looking around wherever I am for the perfect shot and when I do, I take a bunch of pictures. Then I edit in the VSCO app and raise the exposure, sharpen a bit, and give it a cooler temperature. Follow me here!

What’s the most exciting thing that’s happened to you since starting your blog?
I would have to say working with companies, specifically ones that emailed me first. I always freak out inside whenever I get an email from a PR person or a company. I also have something very exciting coming up in the fall, but I just can’t tell you yet;).

Here’s a fun one – three favorite trends, go:
Citrus prints, chokers and mini bags.

Finally, what’s your biggest piece of advice for my stylish readers?
Don’t copy someone else’s style. Style is all about self expression and copying someone else doesn’t make it you. Don’t copy, become inspired.;)

One thought on “THE STYLE MIND: GRACEY

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

