Uncategorized

THE STYLE MIND: JULIA

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 11.15.01 AM

Today, I want to introduce you to Julia of Lemon Stripes. Her style is timeless and her personality really shines through on her blog. Be sure to stop by her blog and say hello!

unnamed

How would you describe your style?
Preppy, colorful, and comfortable. It’s rare that you’ll find me in a pair of heels. Lately, it’s become fairly conservative too.

How has living in New York City affected what you wear?
Every day is like a mini-fashion show when I walk down the street. It has forced me to put at least some sort of effort into my outfits every day. I’m also so inspired by the fashionable women in this city. I’ll see something on the street and replicate it in my own way the next week!

Let’s be real: We’re girls. We’re bloggers. We’re New Yorkers. We love to shop. Where are your favorite stores?
Girlllll, you know it! I’m a huge J.Crew fan obviously and that’s always my number one spot. My other go-to’s are Club Monaco and Anthropologie. I love to shop at Otte, Olive and Bette’s, and Wink as well, 3 boutiques on the Upper East Side. My all time fave shops are home stores though. I could go buck wild at West Elm or Gracious Homes any day of the week!

Who are the three biggest designers you love to splurge on?
I don’t do a lot of designer splurging but I’m dying for a Chanel bag (hint hint to my husband!). But in all seriousness I’d say Joie, Kate Spade, and Vince.

Living in a New York apartment can be rough for your closet so choose one: Frequently shopping or utilizing what’s in your closet already?
I agree. I share a closet with my husband and it’s the pits! I can’t wait to move to the ‘burbs, if only for the closet space. I get a lot of new product as a blogger and I love to shop so I donate my old clothing on a weekly basis (no joke). I repeat pieces on the regular, of course, but I have to keep my blog posts fresh too. It’s a pretty healthy balance, I’d say.

What would you tell a non-New Yorker to do in the city, and what would you tell them to wear?
I would tell them to hit up the High Line followed by a romantic dinner at Aria Wine Bar in the West Village. Wear that piece of clothing in your closet that always makes you feel a million bucks. Oh and make sure the shoes are comfortable because you’ll be doing a LOT of walking!

What’s the most exciting part of blogging?
I love the incredible once in a lifetime experiences that I’ve been exposed to. I spent a full day at Aerin Lauder’s house in the Hamptons last summer, eating lunch with her next to the pool and doing Pilates on her back porch. That was pretty unreal. I also met Jenna Lyons at a J.Crew preview last fashion week. She is my idol so that was amazing. Also the free clothes are pretty rad. I bet no blogger ever says this but they’re all thinking it: Getting free clothes is amazing. You have no idea how many boxes of amazing thing I get every week. It’s awesome.

Here’s a fun one – three favorite trends, go:
Let me preface this by saying I’m not a very trendy person! Blue and white trend, overalls – so stoked that they’re back!, and stacked thin gold rings. Love that dainty look.

Finally, what’s your biggest piece of advice for my stylish readers?
My readers are amazing so first and foremost, I want to say thank you so much for following along on this crazy little adventure. My biggest piece of advice is and always will be: BE AUTHENTIC. Whether is comes to fashion, life, or whatever, be your greatest self and not a copy of someone else. It took me a really long time to find my voice and my own style, and now I happily embrace it.

3 thoughts on “THE STYLE MIND: JULIA

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

