MU / Style

THE STYLE MIND: EVA

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 11.15.01 AM
Eva is one of my favorite fashionable Ambassadors and I’m so happy I got to know her over the past year! She’s hilarious and absolutely fabulous (you’ll see that’s also one of her favorite words). I hope you enjoy her answers as much as I did!
IMG_7856
The basics…

1. Where are you from & what is your major?
I am from Bridgewater, Massachusetts and I am currently a sophomore majoring in Fashion Design.

2. What is your favorite thing about the DC area?
My favorite thing about this area is the amount of diverse events that are always happening. One day you could go to a flea market, the next you could be at a food festival or running a 5K. All you have to do is hop onto the metro or a bus and you can go anywhere so easily!

3. What’s your typical day at MU like?
My schedule is honestly so different everyday… But my day always starts off with the most important meal of the day, breakfast! Between 9AM and 6PM, if I’m not in the classroom, I’ll be either working in the Office of Undergraduate Admissions or the Office of Campus Programs and Leadership Development or as a babysitter. I’ll spend time doing homework after dinner, then try to fit in a quick yoga or zumba workout before bed.

Your Personal Style…

4. What is your definition of fashion?
To me, fashion is the most fabulous way a person can express themselves. Fashion is seeing someones clothing, hairstyle, jewelry, makeup, and shoes as the reflection of themselves that they choose to show the world.

5. How would you describe your style?
My style varies based on everything from the weather, my mood, what laundry is clean, or even what piece of jewelry I want to wear that day. With that being said, I try to stay unique and take chances with my style. I’d like to think that I have a capsule wardrobe, meaning I don’t actually have that many clothes but I style them differently so it looks like I have much more. (Check out this blog for more information on capsule wardrobes!: HERE.)

6. Do you have any fashion icons? If so, who are your ultimate ones?
As a fashion design student, I have A LOT of fashion icons. It would be impossible to choose just one, but my tops would be Princess Kate (she’s effortlessly modest and stunning), Beyonce (she can wear anything and be flawless…obviously), and the Kardashian’s (people can eye-roll all they want but I think they’re fabulous!). I know these icons styles vary incredibly, but I’d love to see any of their closets!

7. Where are your favorite places to shop?
Above all, I love shopping at consignment shops and thrift stores…they’re the places you find those super fun unique pieces! I’m a little ashamed to say, but as a college student, I do love to go to H&M and Forever 21. However, when I save up some extra money I love J.Crew and Nordstroms.

8. Do you have any favorite designers?
I have so many designers that I admire, but my favorites include Carmen Marc Valvo (who I actually met at a Fashion Club event!), Monique Lhuillier, Vera Wang, and of course the fabulous Diane von Furstenberg.

9. What’s more important to you: frequently shopping or utilizing what’s in your closet?
I would not be a fashion major if I didn’t love shopping, but honestly I think utilizing what you have in your closet is so much more creative!

MU Fashion …

10. How would you describe style at MU?
MU style in one word: unpredictable. You could be in a 8AM class and see someone in heels and a fabulous outfit sitting next to someone who just left practice and someone who’s planned outfit for the day was UGGs, leggings, and a northface. To say the least, you can spot the fashion design and merchandising students the majority of the time.

11. What are some trends that you’ve learned or seen from MU students?
Something I have noticed on MU’s campus (due in part to us being such a diverse institution), is the ability of women to dress modestly and still be so fashion forward. I am sure many dress this way for religious reasons or personal beliefs, but as far as I’m concerned, they couldn’t be more stunning.

12. How has your style evolved since being at MU? Why do you think that is?
Having been at Marymount for about two years now, I think my style has evolved in the sense that I am much less afraid to take risks and wear whatever pops into my head. In college, especially at Marymount, no one will care if you mix three different prints, or layer silver and gold jewelry, or wear heels everyday to class.

13. And finally, what’s the biggest piece of advice you can give to MU students who want to be stylish?
Don’t be an outfit repeater! And if you are, at least change up the accessories and hair style…I promise it makes the whole outfit change.

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

