Style

OUTFIT: IN THE TRENCHES

IMG_4762 IMG_4781 IMG_4770 IMG_4789 IMG_4812 IMG_4834 IMG_4784 IMG_4773 IMG_4816 IMG_4803t-shirt: gap | pants: j.crew | trench coat: brooks brothers | heels: kate spade (similar)
bag: free people | sunglasses: rayban | ring: kate spade, old (similar)

Sometimes you just need to go back to the basics.

This trench coat was a gift from my parents for my 21st birthday last July and I know I’ll put it to good use for a very long time. There’s something so classic about a trench coat, and last summer I was seriously on the hunt for the best one  – I stumbled on this Brooks Brothers coat. It was perfect. And I knew it had to be mine. I knew I would be graduating soon, so I wanted something professional, something I could wear to work and wear to run errands.

The weather in Virginia has been bipolar (when hasn’t it been though), so even though it’s been cold, I want to gear my outfits towards Spring. I love the way trench coats look when the sleeves are scrunched up – it screams classic chic to me. A basic striped tee, comfy pants, and heels really can make any outfit desk-to-play appropriate. I also feel like trench coats are a staple for D.C. professionals’ wardrobes – so it makes me fit in…kind of like I’m a real Washingtonian;) (KIDDING, I LOVE YOU, NEW YORK!)

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 7.37.08 PM

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for 140-character and selfie goodness just like this.

17 thoughts on “OUTFIT: IN THE TRENCHES

  1. So, you make the basics look amazing and I seriously want to copy this look! I’ve gotten so use to wearing layers and complicated outfits that I have begun to crave simple outfits. Plus stripes make any outfit look amazing!

    Have a great day, beautiful!

    xoxo,
    Whitley

    Ps. Would you mind mailing me that trench? K thanks. 😀

    • It’s crazy how easy we can forget how perfect a trench coat is! But thank you. You are the absolute sweetest.

      I’ll mail you that trench if you mail me everything in your closet….K sounds good!!!

  2. You look beautiful!! Your outfit is so fun, especially in the way you incorporate that necklace! 🙂
    thesartorialcoquette.com

  3. What a great outfit post! Such a classic look. I’ve always wanted a trench coat but I have always put other things above it on my wish list, but this post is reminding me that maybe I need to make it more of a priority. It just seems like such a versatile piece!

  4. Pingback: FOUR FAVORITES | Pink Champagne Problems

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

