Uncategorized

Happiness

After reading Carly’s post about her happiness, I started to think about my own happiness and what I think about it. As my college career is coming to an end, I’ve taken a step back to go over the past three years of my life and where I am now.

url

When I started college, I was a completely different person. It was nerve-wracking, but I felt like my adjustment to college was much easier than I thought it was going to be. I was a collegate athlete until I was injured and I only ended up running in two meets. I made great friends and really enjoyed being in DC. An old relationship ended and a new relationship began. I did normal college things. I went to class, I attended fashion events, I went to parties (SHOCKER, I know, but I have proof! vvv)

IMG_2766

As time went on, I realized I wanted so much more for myself. Yes, college is great and you should definitely go out and party and have a good time, but during my junior year, I felt otherwise. I don’t think I was truly happy last year – for a number of reasons. I found myself wanting time to speed up so I could get into the real world already. I wanted to go home.

And then I started my internship. It was my first summer back home in two years – and I never wanted to leave. I loved seeing my friends and family so often. I loved waking up and going into Manhattan for work. I met someone who encouraged me in more ways than I could imagine and has become such an important part of my life. I was really genuinely happy – for the first time in a while.

blog 001

Now that I’m back at school, things are a little different. It was tough leaving my friends, family and boyfriend back home. I came into my senior year with a different attitude. Although I was sad to leave, I was excited to start the ending of this chapter in my life.

I’m happy. And I’m nervous. And I’m excited. College is just a (huge) stepping stone for me, and the rest of my life is just around the corner.

It’s bittersweet, but this girl is ready to go home!
xx Dana

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

