Uncategorized

life as an intern

blog 001

As my 10-week internship program comes to an end at Laundry by Shelli Segal ends, I’ve thought a lot about what I’ve learned from being an intern.

It’s not as bad as it seems || The company I worked for really acted as if I was a part of the team. I did projects on my own and was completely responsible for them.

You are at the bottom || So when your SVP of Sales asks you to walk 20 blocks to the florist, you better get your butt up and go walk to the florist. I just keep telling myself “One day I’ll be in that position”. They were in your position once too!

It’s all up to you || There were days when I thought there was absolutely nothing to do. Until I asked my bosses if there was something they needed. Just a tip: no task is menial – your supervisors actually do need you and every little bit helps!

blog 005

Make connections || Seriously, nowadays it is all about networking and who you know – especially in the fashion industry. Introduce yourself to everyone, make sure they know your name and don’t lose touch with them once your internship is over.

Embrace it all || Every day I got to wake up and go to work on Fashion Avenue in New York City. Need I say more?

blog 003

What I did at Laundry:
– 
 Sat in on sales appointments
– Helped create sales orders
– Opened new samples to picture
– Created linesheets
– Got to take home awesome samples (hehe)

blog 008

Overall, my experience at Laundry by Shelli Segal was an amazing one. I’m so lucky that I got to intern right where I wanted to be – a great company, a close-knit team, and first-hand fashion. This internship has just made me realize how excited I am to start my career in the fashion industry, no matter where I end up. — only 9 more months!

xx Dana

One thought on “life as an intern

  1. Pingback: SO LONG 2013! | Pink Champagne Problems

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

