Uncategorized

the style mind: katie

This week’s The Style Mind features Katie, of Katie’s Bliss! I started reading Katie’s blog last summer and I appreciated her girly and fun style. I also loved following her as she became accustomed living in New York City with her boyfriend. I always love hearing about how other people adjust to life in New York, but I have to admit, it really does make me homesick!

Katie Manwaring

1. Where did you attend college?
I attended Elon University and majored in Strategic Communications. I graduated in 2012.

2. How would you describe your style?
Preppy and feminine. I’m definitely a girly-girl!

3. Who are your ultimate style icons?
I love celebrities like Blake Lively, Olivia Palermo and Miranda Kerr. I also look to a lot of style bloggers for inspiration.

4. Where are your favorite places to shop?
I do most of my shopping online! I love Nordstrom (for high end items), J. Crew, Topshop and Target. I also get a lot of beauty products from Drugstore.com.

5. What’s more important: frequently shopping or utilizing what’s in your closet?
Well since I live in a tiny NYC apartment, I’d definitely say the latter. I have no space to have clothes that I don’t wear so I’m constantly donating items to Goodwill and Buffalo Exchange. If I haven’t worn something in a year I try to get rid of it! I also don’t have the extra money to always be shopping – totally wish I did though!

6. What is one trend you love, but don’t think you could pull off?
Colored eyeliner and mascara. I’d totally wear it but I don’t think it would be appropriate for the office. Neutral makeup in general is just more flattering on me.

7. Three favorite trends – go:
Cutouts. Crop tops. Collared necklaces.

8. Who are your lust-worthy designers?
Chanel, obviously. Valentino, Mulberry, Chloe and Miu Miu for sure!

9. What is your typical go-to-work outfit?
A dress I can easily slip on in the mornings – I love wearing my dresses from DVF, J. Crew, Madewell and Rebecca Taylor to work. Comfort is essential for me so I try to avoid tight pants and jeans. I also always have a pair of heels and flats with me, depending on how busy my day is I like to have another option in case I’m running around the office. I stick to minimal jewelry as well – I’m always typing and lots of bracelets/rings get annoying and I always end up taking them off.

10. And finally, what’s the biggest piece of advice you can give to stylish college students?
Stay true to your own personal style and don’t feel like you have to follow the crowd! It’s always fun to try out new trends, but don’t wear something just because everyone else at your school is. If you’re comfortable with your look other people will notice your confidence. I always admire people who stay true to themselves and set trends, not follow them.

Katie Manwaring 1

If you don’t already follow Katie be sure to find her on Twitter and Instagram at @KatiesBliss. Also check out her fantastic YouTube page: youtube.com/pinkbeautybliss

xx D

PS: Totally my birthday today!!! Did you see what was on my wishlist?

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

