Uncategorized

the style mind: lauren

Today’s The Style Mind features, Lauren Fisher, a 21-year-old marketing major at LIM College in Manhattan. How did we meet? Instagram. Twitter. Our love for Oscar de la Renta. You know the way people usually meet nowadays, but don’t worry – we’re planning on meeting up one day very soon!!!

photo (2)

1. Are you currently working anywhere this summer?
Right now I’m working as a social media coordinator for my school, LIM College. This past year I was able to intern for College Fashionista as a Style Guru Writer and Donna Karan as a Public Relations Intern.

2. How would you describe your style?
My style is typically classic with hints of glamour added in. I usually wear a black and white color palette and I like to throw in some accents that are either leopard or a little exaggerated glam jewelry or heels. I love a basic t-shirt or black dress with over the top shoes or accessories.

3. Who are your style icons?
Kate Moss, Audrey Hepburn, and Sarah Jessica Parker; they’re all pretty different but my own personal style inspiration comes from aspects of each of these women’s sense of style.

4. Where are your favorite places to shop?
Usually I shop at Zara, Nordstrom, and H&M- they all have great options that usually fit perfectly into my college budget.

5. What’s more important to you: shopping constantly or utilizing what’s in your closet?
I’ll be honest, I love shopping more than anything. I do love utilizing what’s in my closet and what I already have by mixing and matching different pieces but nothing beats a new pair of shoes.

6. What’s one trend you love, but don’t think you could pull off?
I love the sneaker trend that’s happening right now- I’m a big fan of the hightop sneakers and the wedge sneakers being worn with skirts and dresses and fashion-forward outfits. As much as I love the trend, I will never get used to seeing myself in a pair of sneakers- I just think they look weird on me, maybe it’s too many years being traumatized by gym class.

7. Who is your lust-worthy designer?
I love Oscar de la Renta- the way he creates feminine glamour and just turns fashion into an everyday fantasy.

8. What’s your typical go-to-class outfit?
I really don’t have a typical go-to class outfit. Since my college is a fashion school, we don’t really do the whole sweats and t-shirt thing- we have fun with trends and accessories. Usually, I wear some sort of basic dress or skirt with heeled ankle booties and either a blazer or leather jacket on top.

9. As a college student looking to work in the fashion industry, what’s the best advice you’ve been given?
The fashion industry can seem really intimidating but I think the best way to succeed is by working extremely hard, always being nice, and always dreaming bigger. The best advice I’ve been given is to do all of those things while doing something I’m passionate about- the rest will fall into place.


Isn’t she awesome? Now go follow Alexis on Twitter and Instagram – @laurenalexisnyc

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

