Uncategorized

a love letter to new york

“A bad day in New York City is still better than a good day anywhere else.”IMG_3733

Dear New York,

When I was younger, I don’t think I really could appreciate just how lucky I was to grow up around a city that is full of so many amazing things. My idea of normal was going to breakfast at the Plaza Hotel, roaming around FAO Shwartz for hours, and shopping on Fifth Avenue – and people come from all over the world to do that.

I think I actually fell in love with you on September 11, 2001. Seeing something so tragic from my school was something a fourth grader should never witness. But it made me realize how important being a New Yorker is – even at such a young age. At the tender age of 9, I was so proud to be a New Yorker. Yes, we’re rude. Yes, we walk fast. Yes, we always sometimes have bad tempers. But the bottom line is this: there is nothing like the bond New Yorkers share.

photo

Now that I’m older I have a new-found appreciation for you. People dream about “making it” here, and I get to call you my home. After going away to college, my love for you has only grown. I’ve realized just how lucky I am. Every morning I walk down Fashion Avenue and just know that this is where I’m supposed to end up.

tumblr_ly82m8NamM1r7frapo1_500

I could go into all the details about how much I love Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, and how Justin Timberlake even knows this is the greatest city in the world – but then I’d be writing forever.

So I’ll leave it at this – New York, I love you. I love everything about you. You have the biggest place in my heart, and I will never ever ever leave.

Always, Dana

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

