Uncategorized

the style mind: taylor

NEW_Splash

Today’s The Style Mind features Taylor Hartley – a recent FIT graduate (congrats!), a blogger and most importantly, a designer…and she’s a pretty awesome person! I met Taylor through social media and we finally met in person when I won tickets to Scatter My Ashes at Bergdorfs on her blog in April. Now that I’m back home for the summer, I’m hoping we can finally hang out more often! Now, let me just warn you – Taylor has some great style, and she’s such a talented designer, so be on the lookout for her, she’s about to do big things for this industry!

DSC_1049_478PS: She totally made this dress – unbelievable right?!

1. Where did you attend college?
I attended the Fashion Institute of Technology with my major in Fashion Design and I graduated this year 2013!

2. What is your current position?
Currently I am looking for a job in the fashion industry as a designer. I would like to work for a company for a few years before launching my own brand, Taylor Morgan.

3. How would you describe your style?
Good question! I am definitely a less is more person. Very very feminine. I love clean crisp tailored clothing with beautiful lines. I would rather wear a dress or skirt over jeans any day of the week!

4. Who are your ultimate style icons?
Jackie O, Audrey Hepburn, Chanel of course, she goes without say really. I love classy women who have (had) great style.

5. Where are your favorite places to shop?
Zara is currently my favorite store and my go to.

6. What’s more important: frequently shopping or utilizing what’s in your closet?
Definitely utilizing what’s in your closet. True style comes from learning to mix and match the same pieces in several different ways. Buying lots of stuff won’t give you style. Style comes from your imagination, not a mannequin in J. Crew.

7. What’s one trend you love, but don’t think you could pull off?
Leather leggings!

8. Three favorite trends – go:
For summer…
Cat eye sunglasses
Mint finger nail polish
Gold delicate and dainty rings

9. Who are your lust-worthy designers?
Valentino I die for! Marc Jacobs is always a favorite. And can’t go wrong with the classic Ralph Lauren.

10. What is your typical go-to-work outfit?
When I was working at school I had to wear something I could move a lot in and be comfortable in since I did a lot of draping on mannequins. There is a lot of up and down movement as a designer. My go-to is my black skinny jeans, chambray top, and leopard flats and a Taylor Morgan gold chunky bracelet of course ; )

11. And finally, what’s the biggest piece of advice you can give to stylish college students?
Stay true to who you are and keep it real. I see so many college students, especially at FIT, try to fit into what they think they need to be, but keep it real and don’t over think your outfits. At the end of the day, it really is your self-confidence that will make people think you look good!


Thanks Taylor for this great interview! Be sure to follow Taylor on Twitter @TaylorMorganDes and Instagram @tayhartley

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

