Uncategorized

on being a runner

After the tragic events that happened at the Boston Marathon, I couldn’t help but be completely crushed, not only because I’m a human being, but also because I’m a runner. I thought about the countless races that I’ve ran, all the half-marathons and NYC marathons that I’ve volunteered at, all of the races my family members have attended – and I couldn’t help but want to cry.

15335_101519146535273_100000315651453_37376_1583894_n

I read over a dozen articles about the running community, and how we always come together. Seriously, that couldn’t be more true. Here’s an excerpt from an article from Runner’s World, it brings tears to my eyes every time I read it.

“Even without that special purpose, marathon running is a sport of goodwill. It’s the only sport in the world where if a competitor falls, the others around will pick him or her up. It’s the only sport in the world open to absolutely everyone, regardless of gender, age, ethnicity or any other division you can think of. It’s the only occasion when thousands of people assemble, often in a major city, for a reason that is totally peaceful, healthy and well-meaning. It’s the only sport in the world where no one ever boos anybody. If you’re losing faith in human nature, look at marathon crowds, standing for hours, with no seating, no cover, no bathrooms, to cheer thousands of strangers. Or look at our sport’s volunteers, on whose shoulders the whole sport rests.” 

IMG_1477

Being a runner is a lot like being a New Yorker. Today, and every day, I am proud  to be part of a community that sticks together NO MATTER WHAT. To everyone that was affecting at the Boston Marathon – we’re here for you, all rivalries aside, we love you.

IMG_1059

I’d like to say this to all my fellow runners: We shouldn’t (and we will not) be afraid to cross finish lines after training months to get to them. All of those sprint intervals, long distance runs, aches and pains will continue to be worth it. We will still continue to pick each other up, and we will continue doing the thing we love most – run.

IMG_1430

4 thoughts on “on being a runner

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

