Uncategorized

Barely Surviving

Ok, yeah – the title of this post is a little dramatic. But seriously, it’s COLD out. Like really really really cold out! I think you can agree with me on this one (unless you’re from Texas or Florida, or anywhere else with warm weather).

But seriously, it’s freezing! I dread the three minute walk across Marymount’s campus to class and work, but I’m still so thankful for having such a small campus for this exact reason! My face actually hurts from the wind, UGH NOT CUTE! I’m doing everything I can to stay warm here in Virginia – I thought temperature was supposed to be warmer in the South (and yes, I call Northern Virginia the South)?!

There are two things that have been keeping me sane during these blistering cold days and nights (yup, here comes the drama again) — my parka and tea.

Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 9.42.49 PM

Parka || I was looking for a cute parka for so long, but couldn’t find one that didn’t make me look even shorter than I am (#MidgetProbs). I was walking around Pentagon City mall on my break, when I saw The Gap was displaying their new parkas. I immediately ran in to try one on, and was soon disappointed when they only had a Small — which drowned me. I looked online to see that the XS was sold out, once again disappointed. A few days later, I decided to check the website one more time and the XS was back in stock! Super exciting, I know. I ordered it right away, and even used a discount (some sort of pre-Black Friday sale). Long story short, I’M IN LOVE! The parka is SO warm because of its lined vest (removable too!) and I have enough room to wear a ton of layers underneath! I recommend this to everyone — there’s only three colors left though and they’re Spring colors.

Tea || Since I don’t drink coffee, I’m an avid tea drinker. I’m also huge on trying every type of tea in the world. Usually I stick to English Breakfast Tea as my routine morning cup, but will often go for a Chai later on in the day. I think using a cute mug, like this monogrammed one, can change someone’s mood or outlook on a day (especially if you woke up on the wrong side of the bed). I monogram everything I own, so of course I ordered a monogrammed mug – which I switch on and off with my kate spade mug.

How are you surviving these cold days and nights?!
xx Dana

3 thoughts on “Barely Surviving

    • We just got an inch and a half in Arlington, and people are freaking out! I’ve been stuck in my house because of 29 inches in NYC, so this is nothing!

      But yeah, the jacket is my favorite 🙂

      Stay warm!!!

  1. I love the parka coat, shown on your post. I saw someone posted about vest too which is great for layering and staying warm in class.

    The temperature in Michigan are starting to increase, but the past couple of days we were at zero degrees. I like to wear a long coat. I’ve owned a black coat with faux fur inside from H&M and it keeps me warm. I also like wearing my apres-ski snow boots that I bought from Nike with boots socks and pair it with some leggings.

    I also love to drink tea. Have you ever tried Ginger tea? Ginger tea is so good for the winter as well to help heal sore throat or signs of cold showing as well flu.

    Stay warm 🙂 ♥

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

