Uncategorized

The Style Mind: Kirby

Kirby Markivich, a Fashion Merchandising student and one of our best friends, has a style that could only be described as amazing! It only made sense that we featured her in our latest Style Mind post! Enjoy!

1. How would you describe your style?
I don’t have a defined style in that I could fall into a category like classic or bohemian but I am always one thing: boldly colorful. I experiment with styles categories to find which ones suit me best, which I believe Marymount promotes as a Liberal Arts school. Because I have had the opportunity to dabble in different areas of study, I have been inspired to dabble in style. I do have a signature, bangles upon bangles. If there is one constant thing about my style it is that I have stack of bangles clanking around on my left arm.

2. Who are your style icons?
Carrie Bradshaw defines style, her closet would be my “happily ever after.” Her style looks effortless while looking it is also something to be admired. Her use of prints, colors, and textures (OH MY) is my go-to guide; I have been carried away by Carrie’s style. In reality, I suppose I really need to thank Patricia Fields, her styling of Carrie Bradshaw made me fall in love with fashion. Carrie Bradshaw always dressed happy, no matter her mood which I like to remember when sifting through my wardrobe daily.

3. Where are your favorite places to shop?
When shopping I am on a mission, usually with a wish list in tow. It really depends what I’m looking for, but, of course, I have my favorites. I love the way Express jeans and tops fit and they usually have those trendy colors I lust for every season while a teensy bit flashy (every girl needs her glitter). Exploring H&M for fun prints is always a highlight of my shopping trip. If I need to be super classy, I try The Limited, classic silhouettes in interesting patterns or textures. Then there is Macy’s, Rachel Roy and Vince Camuto are too fabulous to stay away from the red star’s home. I also love to shop in my roommate’s closets. Fortunately, Marymount has given us the opportunity to live in apartment style residents halls and I’ve ended up with two other fashion majors and have now gained two more closets to shop from every morning.

4.What’s more important: shopping all the time or utilizing what is in your closet?
A balance of both. I need to be inspired by new pieces, but I don’t find it necessary to shop every weekend just to keep my closet full of new things. I think it’s more of a challenge to style pieces differently than to just buy something new every time I feel as if I have nothing to wear. If you had asked me this as a junior in high school I would have had the opposite answer, Marymount has taught me to challenge myself in all aspects of life.

5. What’s one trend you love, but don’t think you could pull off?
I absolutely adore wide-leg, high-waisted pants and no matter what brand or color I try, they will never look good on me. I don’t think I would be confident enough in something so unflattering to wear them. Instead, I have decided to live vicariously through those girls who wear them around campus.

6. What’s a trend that you dislike and wish would go away?
Leggings as pants!!! I understand leggings are comfortable but it also looks lazy. Wearing a nice blouse with leggings is like wearing running shoes with your wedding dress.

7. What’s are your lust-worthy designers?
I would die for some L.A.M.B. shoes, Gwen Stefani is one of my favorite designers. I can just imagine strutting in those high platforms to “I’m Just a Girl.” Yves Saint Laurent or Vivinne Westwood are historically two of my favorite designers so having any of their pieces hanging in my closet would be a dream. Through Fashion Club, I’ve had ample exposure to designer pieces which have added more designers to my “lust list.”

8. What does MU Style mean to you?
Marymount’s Common Ground represents a global perspective, and I think that also describes Marymount’s style. Student’s style tells a story of where they’ve been and where they are going. For example, entering Marymount my style was much more simple and through exposure of culturally diverse friends, Fashion Club events and the Fashion Merchandising curriculum, I have experimented with color and prints while becoming much more confident in my style.

9. What’s your typical go-to-class outfit?
Bold colors, loud bangles and stacked heels! When it’s too early to think on Tuesday mornings, I jump right to color and build my outfit from there. Like many fashion majors, I am a firm believer in “if you look good, you feel good,” so even if it feels like my world has turned upside-down, heels, ironically, make me feel grounded. I never leave my room without bangles, the noise they make is comforting and I feel naked without them. Color, bangles, and heels are the foundation of my everyday outfits and my style.

xx Claire and Dana

*The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views, opinions, positions, and strategies of Marymount University.*

One thought on “The Style Mind: Kirby

  1. Pingback: over the weekend | Pink Champagne Problems

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

