Uncategorized

The Style Mind: Claire and Dana

Welcome to the first post of The Style Mind! Each week we will be interviewing different students around campus to get inside the mind behind their style!

1. How would you describe your style?
Claire: At my core, I am just a preppy girl from Maryland. After years of trying to out-style myself, I learned to embrace my preppy roots a few years ago after reading Amanda Brooks’ “I Love Your Style”. I also have a love for mixing current trends and fads into my wardrobe rotation, which I like to call Preppy Eclectic. I also love mixing designer and high-end pieces with items from Forever 21 or even Goodwill.

Dana: I definitely would describe my style as preppy, but more classic prep with a fun twist. I like adding classic pieces, such as a cardigan or button-down, and add an investment piece to the look.

2. Who are your style icons?
Claire: My grandmother – she’s the reason I love fashion. Jenna Lyons – she’s my idol. I die for her girly tomboy look and often look to what she’s wearing for my own outfit ideas. Lauren Conrad – I love that she’s girly but not fussy. Her style isn’t exactly mine, but I appreciate what she’s all about. Dr. Stoessell – Not only one of my favorite professors, but a has great style! It’s very simple and refined, but proves you don’t need to wear a lot to make an outfit fabulous! Blair of Atlantic-Pacific – I look to her when I want to rev up my fashion engine! She’s so inspiring!

Dana: Jenna Lyons is definitely my biggest style icon. As the President and Creative Director of J. Crew, she knows exactly how to break the fashion rules and make it look flawless. Jackie O is a style icon because she is the definition of timeless. Rachel Zoe has been a long-time favorite of mine because of her ability to take chic to a whole new level. I also have two male style icons, Karl Lagerfeld and Brad Goreski. Lagerfeld changed the face of Chanel and is an absolute genius both creatively and physically. Brad is the male version of myself – his style is classic (bowties and suits), but adds his own fun and colorful element to each look.

3. Where are your favorite places to shop?
Claire: J. Crew is my foundation, but I like to shop at consignment stores, TJ Maxx, Nordstrom, Madewell, and kate spade.

Dana: J. Crew is my life! That’s where I go when I want to find investment pieces that I can mix up for a long time. kate spade is the place I shop for girly, fun, flirty, and colorful pieces. I love their handbags and their apparel is really coming along. Target is a place where I can find some really cute pieces for a low price. I like how they are teaming up with tons of designers and department stores because it enhances the quality of the items.

4.What’s more important: shopping all the time or utilizing what is in your closet?
Claire: Utilizing what you have is how you develop your style. Don’t get me wrong, I love shopping but I try very hard to buy things that will enhance my cloest, not just fill it. I’d much rather wear the same 10 cute outfits than wear something different every day for 6 months!

Dana: I shop, A LOT! I firmly believe that you can never have too many clothes, shoes, or handbags. As long as your budget the right way, you can shop whenever you feel like it! I definitely like utilizing what I have in my closet – I love taking a piece that I’ve had for two or three years and adding one of my new items to the look.

5. What’s one trend you love, but don’t think you could pull off?
Claire: I’m really trying to be a little bit edgier. I see girls on campus all the time rocking dark lips and biker boots, and I wish I could figure out how to make that work without looking the way I did when I went through my Avril Lavigne stage…

Dana: Wide-legged pants. I think they look so amazing on people, but I always feel like my legs are too short.

6. What’s a trend that you dislike and wish would go away?
Claire: I’m so over high-low skirts. I’m not hating on anyone who likes them, I’d just prefer if people picked a length and stuck with it.

Dana: I really am not a fan of the ombre trend. I don’t understand it, but some people can really pull it off.

7. What’s are your lust-worthy designers?
Claire: Lanvin, thanks to a paper I wrote my sophomore year. Pucci, thanks to that same class! Theory, Rachel Roy and Tuleh are also up there on my list.

Dana: Chanel, Yves Saint Laurent, and Milly. If I could afford it, I would have a wall full of Chanel bags, a rack full of YSL jackets, and tons of Milly dresses.

8. What does MU Style mean to you?

Claire: I love the huge variety of styles that you see on campus. You can definitely tell we are a school that loves fashion because everyone dresses for class, even non-fashion majors. I really love that we all take pride in that we have style, and it’s so unique to our campus.

Dana: Since we are a school that offers great fashion programs, I think our style, as a whole is so diverse. There are students wearing 6-inch heels around campus and walking those hills as if it’s a runway. There are students who wear skinny denim and flats, and make it chic with a printed scarf. I really enjoy looking around campus and seeing what each individual has to contribute to our school style.

9. What’s your typical go-to-class outfit?
Claire: Pointy toe flatsPixie pants, a belted chunky sweater, with tons of bangles. I pull it all together with my cat-eye sunglasses.

Dana: For Fall, it’s definitely my Pixie pants, a fun sweatshirt, my puffer vest and riding boots.

xx Claire and Dana

*The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views, opinions, positions, and strategies of Marymount University.*

A comment from you? How exciting! Thanks for reading today's post. xO

